The National Library of Aruba was distinguished with The Albertina Pérez de Rosa Excellence Award 2013, bestowed by the ACURIL Puerto Rico Chapter, on the ACURIL 2013 PUERTO RICO Red Carpet Evening of Awards, Friday, 14 June 2013.  The event was held at the Caribbean Ballroom of the Intercontinental San Juan Resort & Casino, in Isla Verde Puerto Rico.

The Albertina Pérez de Rosa Award recognizes and honors the excellent performance of alliance and collaborative efforts of local or regional information units as communities of practice, or by private enterprises, evidenced through the implementation of successful information projects for the benefit of their clienteles in the Caribbean.

The National Library of Aruba advances the sustainability and energy awareness in the community. It supports the annual Green Aruba Conference, established the Caribbean Energy, Environment and Sustainability Education program.  It has presented two Green Education Symposiums (for secondary schools and higher). The II Green Education Symposium Aruba 2013 became a reality thanks to the partnership with “Green's'Cool”, SETAR N.V., N.V. Elmar, W.E.B. N.V. and Santa Rosa.

On Monday, July 1, 2013, the National Library of Aruba will be participating in a panel presentation, at the American Library Association 2013 Conference program, entitled: How the Dutch Caribbean goes Green with Libraries and other supporters :  The event will take place at the McCormick Place Convention Center N127.  Panelists will be Mrs. Astrid Britten, Director of the National Library of Aruba, Dutch Caribbean Library Association (DCLA) Secretary, past-President and current Board Member Association of Caribbean Universities, Research and Institutional Libraries (ACURIL); Mr. Ronny Alders, Coordinator of the Green Education Symposium at the National Library of Aruba, past-ACURIL Executive Board member; Mrs. Monique Alberts-Director of the Philipsburg Jubilee Library (St. Maarten), DCLA President, and ACURIL Board member; Drs. Geert Kooistra, Strategic spatial planner & process designer at "Planosfeer" in Breda in the Netherlands.  The panel is sponsored by the International Responsibilities Task Force, Social Responsibilities Round Table.

Appearing on the photograph are, from left to right: Luisa Vigo-Cepeda. ACURIL's Executive Secretary; Astrid Britted, Director of the National Library of Aruba (NLA); Ronny Alders, member of the NLA; and Cindy Jiménez-Vera, ACURIL President 2012-2013.  The photograph appeared in


Biblioteca Nacional Aruba
George Madurostraat 13
Oranjestad Aruba
Phone +297 582-1580
Fax +297 582-5493

Branch San Nicolas
Peter Stuyvesantstraat z/n
San Nicolas Aruba
Phone +297 584-5277 /
+297 584-3939
Fax +297 584-5004

Dept. Arubiana/Caribiana
Bachstraat 5
Oranjestad Aruba
Phone +297 582-6924

Facebook   Google+ YouTube Pinterest LinkedIn